Mother’s Day

Outdoors
A beautiful day
Outwardly
Things are great
I’m smiling
The sun is shining
Internally
Things change

I’m happy for you
Really, I am
But right now
I’m alone

In the midst of
Happy families
Laughter and Joy
I sit in the sun
Alone
Hear my silent plea
I want a friend
A hug
Someone to hang out with
Me

Not wanting to encroach
I say nothing
Put on a smiling face
I know you are busy
Plans already made
So I don’t let you see
The hurt that’s in me

I’m happy for you
Really, I am
But right now
I’m alone

Its days like these
I wish I was home

 

Leave a Reply

